EE Lake Store & Old Post Office
Built by Edward E. Lake in about 1901, the two story building at the corner of Snickersville Turnpike and Railroad Street has served a a post office, an ice cream parlor, a barbershop and most famously a general store. A branch of the Loudoun National Bank of Leesburg operated in the store but closed after robbers opened the safe with explosives in 1907. The second floor was long used as a dance hall and meeting space.
The general store stayed open until 1930s, leaving only the post office, which moved across the street in 1945. In the 1940s, the store opened again, but only stayed open for two years.
Since then, the building has opened only once a year during the Bluemont Fair. Eventually, the county and citizens association were able to have enough funds to renovate the building. In 2018, the building was reopened as Bluemont’s Welcome Center and the Plaster Museum of Bluemont Heritage.
The Plaster Museum of Bluemont Heritage
Located in the EE Lake Store, Bluemont’s first post office is now home to the Plaster Museum of Bluemont Heritage. It displays a collection of artifact, documents, maps, and stories from the past that make up Bluemont’s rich heritage.
Through the efforts of Henry Plaster to preserve the history of our Village, the Museum, named in his honor, opened in 2018. It allows us to share memorabilia from the past and to get a glimpse into earlier life in our village.